Old Betty

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Week of 07-25

https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode.


Old Betty

Dad inherited a boat. Grandpa Nick had passed away and left my father his beloved boat- his Betty.

Betty had ever worked; it just sat in grandpa’s garage, and every Saturday he and Nan would take a bottle of wine and sit on their lawn chairs imagining that they were out at sea. It was his dream.

Dad took Betty out to the water, hoping it would somehow ‘convince’ the old thing to come to life. I went out with him every afternoon. He would walk up and down and talk to the boat. He thought I was there to think what I was to do with my life. I was only there to jot down everything he did to use in a story- my secret passion.

One day we stopped going, and old Betty sat in the backyard never to be enjoyed again.

But I wouldn’t let my dream become like Betty. I still go out to that spot by the water to write.


(165 words)

I’ve been AWOL from my blog for some time. I got engaged since being gone and I’ve been riding that high for a while. But back to writing now.

6 thoughts on “Old Betty

Leave a Reply

