Furry hero

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Week of 06-06 through 06-12-2017

Prompt provided by Pamela S. Canepa.


Furry Hero 

Getting lost was easy. There were only trees, and more trees, and more trees around me. And behind me. And in front of me.

I found a large rock to stand on, hoping that it would give me a vantage point to find civilization again. I managed one leg over the edge and struggled for some time to pull the rest of myself up onto it. Should have used my gym membership a bit more. Breathless, I did a power stance with my hands on my hips. It’s good to feel confident even when you feel like crying.

I did what I always did best; I yelled and screamed.

A very hairy hand came up from behind and clamped my mouth shut. I closed my eyes, thankful. I turned to face my hero. I gasped, it held out it’s paw to me.

It had to be a male bear. His cave was dishevelled, his bed unmade, dishes waiting in the sink.

He called the police. I got ice cream on my way home.

Crap. I hope the others are okay.


(180 words)

I was feeling silly. Obviously, you’d yell if a bear put it’s paw on your face.

7 thoughts on “Furry hero

Leave a Reply

