30 Day writing challenge: Day 23

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 23: Chocolate muffin.


In my first year of NaNoWriMo as the newbie, I found myself online one night looking through the forums. I was still unsure about what I was doing. I was at around eight-thousand words, a day or two ahead of the daily word goal.

I don’t remember every detail (it was a few years ago) but I remember a forum for challenging other writers to an online write-off. Something like that. I happened to be challenged by the fearless leader, as she was called. I accepted. The first one to reach ten thousand and comment their achievement in the forums would win. The loser would have to buy the winner a chocolate muffin. Game on.

After furiously writing for a while and reaching the goal, I updated my wordcount and commented. A minute or so later, she updated. I had won. Glorious victory. She promised to bring my chocolate trophy to the next write-in.

And she did. When she arrived, she handed me a white box. Inside- the chocolate muffin I had earned. Some seemed a bit impressed, I felt a bit more included and part of the group.

And then my brother ate the muffin.


(196 words)

This is a true story. It was one of my NaNo highlights of 2014. As the newbie in any group, I always feel like I have a lot to prove to the others. And I think winning that muffin helped a lot. And my brother really did eat it before I had a chance.

Leave a Reply

