30 Day writing challenge: Day 21

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 21: Sunny side up.


Now, waking up in someone’s apartment- someone you don’t even remember meeting- can be a scary experience. Unfortunately, it was a normal experience for me. If your memory is fuzzy, it really does happen a lot. Especially if you like going out with friends who forget about you after the third drink, and you tend to wonder off toward strangers.

It’s probably not the brightest thing to do. It was better than sitting at home night after night. Nothing ever happened. Most of the guys (sometimes girls) were afraid of me. The other half were always very polite before asking me to leave. I never understood it.

I was in the kitchen getting some water when he came in.

“Hey,” he said.

I almost dropped the glass, but recovered and turned around with a smile. “Hi.”

“Hungry?” he asked. He opened the fridge and took out a carton of eggs. “Sunny side up?”

“Sure. I’m happy as long as the yolk is runny.”

He got out a pan from the cupboard. “Great.”

I watched him for a while. “Did anything happen last night. I don’t…”

“Don’t worry about it. Nothing happened. Your guardian angel made sure of it.”

Oh, good. “Wait, what?”


(202 words)

 

Leave a Reply

