30 Day writing challenge: Day 19+20

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 19: Throes of Spring. 

Prompt 20: Hello morning.


I was in bed when it happened. A violent spasm shook the cabin, and me awake. It lasted less than a minute, and when I looked out the window, everything was still covered in snow. It all seemed normal. I blamed myself for having too many glasses of Shiraz before going to sleep. The room doesn’t spin for me, it shakes.

I went back to bed, thinking of the wonderful snowmen I would build in the morning. This was my only time off in the year- I was going to enjoy it, damnit!

As sunlight streamed into my small cabin, I greeted the day,” Hello, morning!” I warmed up leftover soup and finished the last of the bread. I grabbed my boots and threw open the door, where I found no snow at all. I looked up at the clear blue sky. A deer ran past. I swear, it had daisies in its mouth. Birds sang. I had been thrown viciously into the invading force of Spring.


(167 words)

Leave a Reply

