30 Day writing challenge: Day 16

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 16: Don’t blink.


He orders me to stop. I don’t breathe. I don’t even blink. I keep my fists at my sides, waiting, listening for more instructions. But nothing comes. I can’t help but look at the ethereal forest. When you stood still long enough, the beautiful hues of blues and purples made you feel safe. You forgot about the dangers around you. You don’t notice how long you stand there, drinking it all in.

“Don’t you dare fall for this cursed place’s tricks!” Link yells in to my ear. “Snap out of it, Lily.”

I snap out of my reverie. I turn my head slowly to focus on his small presence. He wasn’t much bigger then my thumb. I could flick him off and return to the forest. But a chill ran up my spine, stopping me. “Sorry,” I said, speaking softly. Even whispering was too loud for him. “It’s difficult to ignore.”

“I know,” he said. Link’s furrowed brow returns. “But I said to go left. We’re close to Iandel. My mother will know how to help you.

magicalforest


(177 words)

 

Leave a Reply

