30 Day writing challenge: Day 15

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 15: A sunny spot.


I stretch out my arms, making sure to get to that hard to reach spot in my shoulder. I sit up on the bed, taking my time to open my eyes. The room is so cold and I’ve only started my nap.

This will not do.

A yawn takes over me. Time to find a sunny spot to resume this long overdue, and well deserved sleep. I have the perfect post in mind. It’ll be empty and most importantly, toasty. The dog won’t bother me. The kids are still at school. It’ll be perfect.

I make my way to the office. I brush past the door and slowly stalk my prey- the red couch that stands by the window. The sun always shines on it in the autumn.

I yawn again before jumping up. I pull the throw pillow down and rest my head against it. Soon, the sun starts to warm my cold limbs. It envelops me like a drop of warmed cream on my tongue. I sigh. Sleep comes again.

It’s purrfect.


(174 words)

Image result for sunny spot cat

Leave a Reply

