30 Day writing challenge: Day 14

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 14: Coming up green


After months of working I was left with a small patch of pumpkin vines that looked grey. Instead of giving up, I decided to plant sunflowers, hoping that the beautiful flowers would save me from embarrassment. I was wrong. They didn’t even bother to break through.

I refused to give up. I had the chickens to give me company while I worked and toiled the small plot of land. I tried so many different types of plants. None of them worked.

My father brought me a box one year after staring my quest. I planted the strange, orange seed. I watered it and kept the chickens away from it. I built a sturdy fence around it, and watched as it grew. Some weeks after planting the strange seed, I noticed that the small bud had grown into a large, rectangular shape. I still watered it every day.

One day, I was met with a cow’s face attached to this strange plant I had grown. I noticed that it was watching the chickens. I threw a loaf of bread at it, and watched as it munched it up.

A cow plant?

What was my father doing to me?


(197 words)

I might have been playing Sims…

Leave a Reply

