30 Day writing challenge: Day 13

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 13: I want a new phone


I run down the hallway. I need to get to the kitchen before the light goes on. If it goes on, if it sees me. If it seems me…

My hand reaches out to the door. I close it behind me, resting my back against the cold wood. I’m out of breath. I’m sweating. A small light shines through the slit beneath the door. I bold forward, almost tripping over my slippers. The door opens behind me, creaking and groaning.

“I just want some sleep,” I yell to it. I know it won’t stop pursuing me.

I’m in the garage, and soon in my car. But I’m not safe. I lock the doors. My hands rest on the steering wheel, waiting for the garage door to open. It’s so slow.

It’s still coming.

I only see a flash of light before it throws itself against the car. I scream. The car lurches forward into the shelf spilling old boxes and dust over the window.

As I open my eyes, I can feel it in my hand. My phone it back in my hand. I cry out and fall forward onto the horn.


(192 words)

I am so behind on my own challenge! I hope everyone had an excellent Easter weekend. I’ll be updating today and tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll be on track again by the 19th and will only post once a day again.

Leave a Reply

