30 Day writing challenge: Day 12

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 10: His fist flew into..


His fist flew into the glass, shattering it. I stepped between the sharp pieces, gradually making my way toward him.

“Stop,” Tom ordered. “You don’t know that it’s safe.”

I ignored him.

Daniel looked hollow, haggard. There were dark circles set beneath his eyes, and several purple bruises on his face. Once I stood before him, I slowly raised my hand and placed it on his arm. It really was him. He was there with me. It wasn’t a dream.

“Daniel,” I said. He grabbed my forearms to steady himself. I turned my head to Tom. “Get help. He’s weak.”

Tom ran out of the room to get someone. Daniel sank to his knees, taking me down with him. I watched his chest rise and fall until the door opened again. Before I could say anything, hands grabbed my shoulders and pulled me away from him.

“What are you doing?” I demanded.

Tom bowed his head. “It’s for your own good, Rachel.”

I yelled and fought to get back to Daniel as I was dragged away from him. I could only watch as Tom produced a knife from his hip and stepped closer to the mirror.


(196 words)

One thought on “30 Day writing challenge: Day 12

Leave a Reply

