30 Day writing challenge: Day 10

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 10: Second date.


A second date isn’t really the type of thing you’re supposed to think of when the world ends. But as the worst of it settled down, all I could think of was taking her to my favourite diner near the police station.

Regina reached to my chest, had deep red hair and warm brown eyes. Her smile lit the office as soon as she stepped in with her small box of knick-knacks meant for her new desk. It took me several months to find the courage to ask her to have coffee with me. She wasn’t really someone you would easily forget. I couldn’t forget.

I had no idea where she was or what happened after the bomb dropped. I tried the phone first, but the line was dead. When it looked safe enough, I walked down what was left of the street toward the diner. It was so close. We would never have that second date. The world- my world had ended. What did it matter?

I sat down by a bench that seemed sturdy.

We would have sat there. It would have been nice.

It would have been nice..


(191 words)

It’s Fallout inspired.

One thought on “30 Day writing challenge: Day 10

Leave a Reply

