30 day writing challenge: Day 3

The idea is to write 150-200 words a day for each prompt and to post it on this blog. At the end of the month, I’ll post the list of prompts if anyone is interested.

Prompt 3: An awful lot of running.


An awful lot of running. 

I stopped, winded. I rested my back against a tree, wincing and holding my stomach. I rode out the wave of cramps that assaulted me, using the tree to keep me from collapsing onto the crunchy brown leaves.  I was not made to run. My short legs should have given that away. What was I thinking?

But it was only John and I left in the game. I picked up my gun, holding it against my chest. After a few more deep breaths and a few curse words, I ran again.

As I ran with a new cramp in my thigh, I heard shots. John cry out. I was the only one left then. I stopped running, looking down at the gun in my hands. I could stop. I didn’t have to continue my torture. With my finger on the trigger, I aimed the gun down at my foot. One, two. I held up my hands, surrendering to the Omega team with my perfect pink paintballed feet.

I smiled. No more running for me.


(174 words)

 

2 thoughts on “30 day writing challenge: Day 3

Leave a Reply

