Connecting People

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

This week’s prompt provided by Sunayana MoiPensieve


Connecting People

Wait, what is this?

There’s a guy in the middle of the street performing a concert. Equipment and everything. I really need to get to a toilet.

I stopped. Another woman stopped, too.

I know this song. It’s something classical. Gran vals something? Dad used to play it all the time.

I took out my phone. I needed to google it. Gran vals by Francisco Tarrega. Camera on, recording. I need to show this to my dad. He’s going to freak out.

Man, I still really need to pee.

There’s a crowd forming on the other side, all with their phones out too. This guy really is amazing. He’s holding the entire crowd with just the guitar. Slowly, my hands fall down and I put my phone back into my pocket. Dad’s gone. I can’t show it to him.

So I watch. Soon the woman next to me puts her phone away as well.

We just listen.


(149 words)

0:09 to 0:15

 

11 thoughts on “Connecting People

  1. The tune is familiar so I must have heard it sometime in the past, but I’m not familiar with its name or the musician.

    I did once have the privilege of hearing the great Andres Segovia play in San Francisco in the late 1970s. He used no amplification, just his acoustic guitar. It was absolutely amazing.

    Like

    1. It’s the nokia tune. (It was) That’s why it sounds familiar, but I don’t think a lot of people know where it comes from. It must have been amazing to listen to him play. My brother used to play for us a lot. It really is special to see and hear someone play live

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Touching story! I know the feeling when you are going to do something for someone and then you realize they are no longer with us. I loved how they all stopped to listen to the street musician at the end!

    Like

Leave a Reply

