A complicated way of getting someone to the airport

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Dawn Miller for our photo prompt this week!


A complicated way of getting someone to the airport

I hated going out. There are extroverts, introverts, and then me. There is no scale for me, because I fell off of it.

I have apps for everything- food, clothes, books, etc. On Tuesdays I always ordered my favourite three-cheese pizza. When I lifted the lid to add my special ingredient (Parmesan- I like to make it a four-cheese pizza), I saw it. I picked up a piece, took a big bite of the gooey richness, and let the smell envelope me before I read it. Pizza is my one weakness.

In big, black letters it said: I poisoned the pizza. Come to the airport if you want to live.

I recognized my sister’s handwriting.

“This is a joke, right?” I asked as soon as she picked up the phone.

“Not at all, Ariel. Better get packing. I’ll see you at six.”

I threw the pizza out and got ready for bed. But my sister knew me well. Before long all I could think of was poison flowing in my veins. Around four I gave in and packed.

She waited with two tickets and a small vial filled with clear liquid. She only gave it to me once we were on the plane. It was oil. She used me against myself to go and visit her boyfriend, because she didn’t want to fly alone.

I deserved it.


(227 words) It’s a lot over the word count limit. I’m very sorry!

And I’m not sure if it’s an airport or a train station in the photo, so I just went with airport.

8 thoughts on “A complicated way of getting someone to the airport

  1. She does not need her sister to poison her, she is doing it herself with so much cheese. Then again I love folded pizzas with lots of olives. [Calzone] 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

